Photo: Eric Richmond

Photo: Eric Richmond

‘Trees, Walls, Cities...’ with the Brodsky Quartet

Saturday 9 November 2013

Information - Iain Masson's 'Three Pieces for String Quartet', composed for the Brodsky Quartet in 2001 (broadcast in 2001 live on BBC Radio 3 at BBC Broadcasting House), has been performed by the quartet in ‘Trees, Walls, Cities...’ in Hall One at King's Place, London. The programme featured Elvis Costello's 2000 ballet 'Il Sogno' (The Dream), 'Fantasia X111 in F - Upon one note' by Henry Purcell arranged by Britten, Robert Davidson's 'Three men and a Blonde', 'Regret' by Dave Brubeck, 'Blues' by Ravel, Prokofiev's  'Overture on Hebrew Themes' and a waltz by Shostakovich.  

Notes - A big thank you to the Quartet - Daniel, Ian, Paul and Jacqueline - for including my music in a very special evening.


Royal Swedish Opera singer Ian Power performs Iain Masson's 'Whoosh-ka!' as encore in the Italienska kulturinstitut on Gärdet Sweden.

Saturday 25th February 2012

Information - Royal Swedish Opera's Ian Power has performed Iain Masson's 'Whoosh-ka!' (composed in 2000 for Adam Linstead) tongue-twister as an encore in a programme of operatic arias at The Italian Culture Institute in Sweden. Programme included works by Mozart, Gounod, Bizet and Donizetti.

Notes - A big thank you to Ian Power!


'Whoosh-ka!' tongue-twister encore at the Kungliga Operan | Royal Swedish Opera

Wednesday 22nd February 2012
and Friday 24th February 2012

Information - Iain Masson's musical tongue-twister 'Whoosh-ka!' (composed in 2000 for Adam Linstead) has been performed by opera singer Ian Power at the Royal Swedish Opera (Kungliga Operan) in Stockholm, Sweden. It was part of the lunchtime recitals series at the Kungliga Operan and performed as an encore. The piece was well received! The programme included works by Ibert and Duparc.

Notes - Thank you very much to Ian for performing my music once again in Sweden!


120 young musicians, teachers and workshop leaders perform 'Evolutions' by Iain Masson at Oakengates Theatre in the Borough of Telford and Wrekin


Information - 120 primary children, teachers and music workshop leaders delivered a 'wow' premiere of Iain Masson's educational commission, 'Evolutions' at the Oakengates Theatre, Telford and Wrekin, passionately performed in the company of the Lord Mayor of Telford. The single-movement 40-minute work, commissioned by Musicate, brought together all the work of the new Telford and Wrekin Music pilot project into one dazzling performance in the heart of Telford and was conducted by Daniele Rosina. From tuned classroom percussion to Indian flutes, orchestral instruments and guitars to brass, African drums, Samba drumming, vocals and oriental gongs, the work showcased all the best of the work and experiences offered by Telford and Wrekin Music. It was very well received by the audience. 

Notes - Thank you to everyone involved in such a great performance and to all the tutors and those behind-the-scenes, you were all amazing!


New Telford commission for 120 children and teachers one of longest UK single-movement education works


Information - Iain Masson has been commissioned to write a new 40-minute educational work for 120 primary school children and their instrumental teachers and workshop leaders.  The work, a single-movement work under the title 'Evolutions', has been commissioned by Musicate and will be premiered at the Oakengates Theatre. The work will showcase all aspects of the new Telford and Wrekin Music / Musicate pilot project in the Borough. The Lord Mayor of Telford and Wrekin will attend the event.


New RNCM commission premiered at the Bridgewater Hall by RNCM New Ensemble

June 2005

Information - Iain Masson's 'Plux 1 for Chamber Ensemble' was commissioned as a 5-minute companion piece to Stravinsky's 'A Soldier's Tale'. It was commissioned by the Royal Northern College of Music New Ensemble and is dedicated to Adam Gorb. The piece was premiered at the RNCM's flagship End-of-Year Concert held at the Bridgewater Hall, Manchester, 2005, conducted by Mark Heron.  

Notes - Thank you to the RNCM New Ensemble and conductor Mark Heron for delivering such a super performance!