Diary Dates


West Midlands Concertina Group concertina band performs Iain Masson's 'Frivol for Concertina Band' on Black Country Radio's Local Music Hour /  'Black Country Matters' show  (Live 📻 102.5FM / DAB)

Black Country Radio studio, The Waterfront Brierley Hill / Black Country Radio  / Sunday 1st December 2019 - 4:00pm / 📻 102.5FM / DAB)

Diary dates you might have missed...

The Brodsky Quartet - Costello's ‘Il Sogno’ and other gems

The Brodsky Quartet - Trees, Walls, Cities

Music / Saturday, 9 November 2013 - 7:30pm / Hall One - King's Place London

Online Price: £13.50 / £15.50 / £19.50 / £24.50 / Savers £9.50*

Purcell arr. Britten Fantasia XIII in F Upon One Note
Masson Three Pieces for String Quartet
Robert Davidson Three Men and a Blonde
Dave Brubeck Regret
Shostakovich Waltz No. 2 (arr. For Piano Quintet by Jacqueline Thomas)
Ravel Blues from Violin Sonata No. 2 
Prokofiev Overture on Hebrew Themes
Elvis Costello Il Sogno

Daniel Rowland violin
Ian Belton violin
Paul Cassidy viola
Jacqueline Thomas cello

The third and final Brodsky Quartet concert centres around Elvis Costello’s stunning ballet music, Il Sogno. Commissioned in 2000 by the Italian company Aterballeto for their adaptation of Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night's Dream, the work is now a regular part of the orchestral repertoire.

Robert Davidson, bass player in the Brisbane-based group Topology, has written a number of pieces for the Quartet over the years, and tonight they perform his brilliant, tongue-in-cheek Three Men and a Blonde, written for them for their 40th anniversary, and his stupendous arrangement of Il Sogno for 8 players, in which he somehow manages to keep all the colour, nuance and humour of the full orchestral version.

The Brubeck was also written for The Brodsky Quartet and is his response to the events of 9/11. Prokofiev's glorious Hebrew Themes leads us perfectly into Costello’s sound world.


The website of Scottish composer and musician Iain L. Masson
© Copyright Iain L. Masson 2000-2020