Iain Masson to guest conduct Warwick Orchestral Winds (formerly the Midland Wind Orchestra)

Iain Masson will visit Warwick Orchestral Winds as a guest conductor to lead their Sunday rehearsal on 11th February.

Warwick Orchestral Winds (originally the Midland Wind Orchestra) was formed in 1992. The band draws its members from all over the Midlands, giving concerts in the Warwick and Leamington Spa area.

The ensemble has a deserved reputation for programming less well know works together with more traditional and well known classics from the Symphonic Wind repertoire. WOW have competed many times in the National Concert Band Festival and in 2002 gained a Gold Award in the regional heats, going on to achieve a Bronze Award at the National Finals under the baton of their then conductor John Watson.

The rehearsal will be Iain's second as a guest conductor.

Website: http://www.warwickorchestralwinds.co.uk

Iain Masson awarded Honorary Membership of Birmingham Conservatoire (HonBC) for Services to the Music Profession in the 10 years following graduation

Iain was proudly conferred with Honorary Membership of the Conservatoire on Friday (19 June 2015) in the Awards Ceremony in the Adrian Boult Hall, Birmingham Conservatoire.

'There were so many memorable performances and people there, it was a very special day.

The brass ensemble, string quartets and Symphony Orchestra sounded great'.

Presentation of Awards in the Adrian Boult Hall, Birmingham Conservatoire in June

Iain has been awarded with Honorary Membership of Birmingham Conservatoire (HonBC) in 2015.

Honorary Membership of Birmingham Conservatoire was created some years ago to acknowledge past students who have made a significant contribution within the various branches of the music profession. Recipients of the award have been working in the profession for a number of years and have established themselves in one or more areas of the music profession. 

Brodsky Quartet performs 'Three Pieces for String Quartet' (Iain Masson) as part of 'Il sogno and other gems' concert in Hall One, King's Place, London

I was delighted to have my 'Three Pieces for String Quartet' performed by the Brodsky Quartet at Hall One, King's Place, London. The concert was called 'Il sogno and other gems'.


Purcell: Fantasia XIII in F Upon One Note (arr. Britten)
Masson: Three Pieces for String Quartet
Robert Davidson: Three Men and a Blonde
Dave Brubeck: Regret
Shostakovich Waltz No. 2 (arr. For Piano Quintet by Jacqueline Thomas)
Ravel: Blues from Violin Sonata No. 2
Prokofiev: Overture on Hebrew Themes
Elvis Costello: Il Sogno

Thank you to the Quartet and for the lovely feedback from the audience members!